Join Our Instagram Family!
Follow Rozana Job Updates for fast reels, daily job alerts, and study material directly on your feed.
🚨 Daily Punjab & Centre Job Alerts
🔔 Never Miss a Recruitment Deadline
Fast, Simple & Verified Job Updates
Follow @rozanajobupdates
Maybe Later
Follow on Instagram ਰੋਜ਼ਾਨਾ ਅਪਡੇਟਸ ਲਈ ਜੁੜੋ

NFR Railway Apprentice Recruitment 2026 6777 Posts Apply Online for 10th ITI Candidates

NFR Railway Apprentice Recruitment 2026 – Apply Online for 6,777 Act Apprentice Posts

NFR Apprentice Recruitment 2026 for 6,777 posts with unit-wise vacancies, trades, eligibility, age limit, stipend, fee and merit-based selection.

NFR Railway Apprentice Recruitment 2026 is open for 6,777 Act Apprentice training slots. Online applications started on 20 July 2026 and will close on 19 August 2026 at 5:30 PM. Check the unit-wise vacancies, notified trades, 10th and ITI eligibility, age limit, stipend, fee and merit-based selection details before applying.

📄 NFR Railway Apprentice Recruitment 2026 Overview

Northeast Frontier Railway (NFR) has issued Centralized Notification No. NFR/NAPS/ACT APP./2026 dated 14 July 2026 for engagement of 6,777 Act Apprentices under the Apprentices Act, 1961. The training slots cover the 2025-2026 and 2026-2027 apprenticeship cycles and are distributed across eight divisions and workshops under NFR jurisdiction. The online application process started on 20 July 2026 and the closing date is 19 August 2026 at 5:30 PM. For most notified trades, candidates need Matriculation with at least 50% aggregate marks and the relevant NCVT/SCVT ITI certificate. Selection is based on merit, followed by Document Verification.

OrganizationNortheast Frontier Railway (NFR), Personnel Department
Notification No.NFR/NAPS/ACT APP./2026
PostAct Apprentice
Total Training Slots6,777
Apprenticeship Cycle2025-2026 & 2026-2027
Notification Date14 July 2026
Application ModeOnline
Job / Training LocationAssam, West Bengal and Bihar under NFR jurisdiction
SelectionMerit-based followed by Document Verification
Official Websitenfr.indianrailways.gov.in

📅 NFR Apprentice Important Dates 2026

Notification Date14 July 2026
Online Application Start20 July 2026 at 09:00 AM
Last Date to Apply19 August 2026 at 05:30 PM
Admit Card DateNot specified in the official notification
Document Verification DateNot specified in the official notification

The application portal is scheduled to close at 5:30 PM on 19 August 2026. Candidates should avoid waiting until the final hours to complete registration, document upload and payment, wherever applicable.

🤝 NFR Apprentice Vacancy and Trade Details

NFR has notified 6,777 Act Apprentice training slots across eight divisions and workshops. The slots are provisional and may increase or decrease depending on administrative requirements. The detailed trade-wise and category-wise distribution is provided in Annexures I to VIII of the official notification.

Unit-wise NFR Apprentice Vacancy 2026

Division / Workshop Slots Annexure
Katihar (KIR) & Tindharia (TDH) Workshop1,103Annexure-I
Alipurduar (APDJ)651Annexure-II
Rangiya (RNY)750Annexure-III
Lumding (LMG)1,274Annexure-IV
Tinsukia (TSK)860Annexure-V
New Bongaigaon Workshop (NBQS) & Engineering Workshop (EWS/BNGN)881Annexure-VI
Dibrugarh Workshop (DBWS)763Annexure-VII
Headquarter (HQ) / Maligaon495Annexure-VIII
Total6,777All Units

NFR Apprentice Category-wise Vacancy

Category Total Slots Nature
UR2,686Category-wise allocation
OBC1,832Category-wise allocation
SC1,056Category-wise allocation
ST515Category-wise allocation
EWS688Category-wise allocation
ESM677Horizontal reservation included in total
PwBD271Horizontal reservation included in total
Grand Total6,777All notified slots

Note: ESM and PwBD figures are horizontal reservation figures included within the overall 6,777 slots and are not additional vacancies.

Major Trades under NFR Apprentice Recruitment 2026

The notification contains department-wise and trade-wise slots for different NFR units. The commonly notified trades include:

  • Fitter
  • Electrician
  • Wireman
  • Lineman
  • Welder (Gas & Electric)
  • Turner
  • Machinist
  • Carpenter
  • Plumber
  • Mason (Building Constructor)
  • Mechanic Diesel
  • Mechanic Refrigeration and Air Conditioning
  • Mechanic Electrical Instruments
  • Computer Operator and Programming Assistant (COPA)
  • Draughtsman (Civil)
  • Surveyor
  • Secretarial Assistant
  • Health Sanitary Inspector
  • Medical Laboratory Technician (Pathology)
  • Medical Laboratory Technician (Radiology)
  • TIG/MIG Welder
  • Structural Welder
  • CNC Programmer cum Operator
  • Instrument Mechanic
  • Quality Assurance Assistant

The exact number of seats for each trade varies by unit. Candidates should check the relevant annexure of the official notification for the precise trade-wise, unit-wise and category-wise vacancy before selecting their preferences.

✅ NFR Apprentice Eligibility Criteria 2026

The educational qualification depends on the trade. Completing an ITI course alone is not sufficient; the required ITI pass certificate or National Trade Certificate must be available as prescribed in the notification.

Qualification for Most Trades

  • Passed Matriculation / Class 10 or equivalent from a recognized board.
  • Minimum 50% aggregate marks in Matriculation.
  • Possess the relevant National Trade Certificate (NTC) issued by NCVT or Provisional Certificate issued by NCVT/SCVT.
  • The ITI certificate must be in the notified trade for which the candidate is applying.

The minimum 50% aggregate requirement in Matriculation is stated as not applicable to SC, ST and PwBD candidates.

Medical Laboratory Technician Eligibility

  • Passed 12th Class under the 10+2 system.
  • Physics, Chemistry and Biology must be the required subjects.
  • Minimum 50% marks are required in both Class 10 and Class 12 as stated in the notification.

Important: For most NFR Apprentice trades, simply being 12th pass does not meet the qualification requirement. Candidates generally need the prescribed 10th qualification plus relevant ITI certificate.

🔞 NFR Apprentice Age Limit 2026

Minimum Age15 years
Maximum Age24 years
Age Calculation Date19 August 2026
SC / ST Relaxation5 years
OBC Relaxation3 years
PwBD Relaxation10 years
Ex-Servicemen10 years plus 3 years, subject to the conditions specified in the notification

Candidates must be at least 15 years old and must not be above 24 years of age as on the closing date of the online application, i.e. 19 August 2026.

💰 NFR Apprentice Stipend 2026

NFR Act Apprentices are paid stipend during the apprenticeship training. The notification refers to the applicable minimum stipend rates notified by the competent authority.

Training Stage Stipend
Minimum stipend for NTC/STC holders₹9,600 per month
Second year where applicable₹10,560 per month
Third year where applicable₹11,040 per month

The stated rates are subject to revision by the competent authority. Where one or two years' exemption is admissible under the applicable apprenticeship curriculum, the higher-stage stipend rates may apply. Apprentices are responsible for making their own arrangements for accommodation, as hostel accommodation is not provided.

💸 NFR Apprentice Application Fee 2026

General / OBC / EWS Male₹100/-
SC / ST / PwBD / EBCExempted
Women CandidatesExempted
Application Correction₹50/- per correction occasion

The ₹100 application fee is non-refundable. Candidates claiming EBC fee exemption must satisfy the income condition and provide the prescribed EBC certificate dated as required in the notification. The registration details cannot be modified through the correction facility.

🎯 NFR Apprentice Selection Process 2026

The selection process is merit-based. There is no written examination for the Act Apprentice engagement. Merit is prepared separately on the basis of the prescribed academic and ITI marks.

  • Step 1 – Merit Preparation: Merit is calculated using the percentage of marks in Matriculation and ITI in the relevant trade.
  • Step 2 – Trade and Unit Preference: Candidates are considered according to their selected Unit-Department-Trade preference.
  • Step 3 – Merit List: Merit lists are prepared unit-wise, trade-wise and community-wise.
  • Step 4 – Document Verification: Shortlisted candidates are called for Document Verification up to 1.5 times the notified vacancies.
  • Step 5 – Final Engagement: Candidates who satisfy the prescribed requirements proceed further as per the notification.

For Medical Laboratory Technician (Pathology/Radiology), the merit calculation is based on the prescribed Matriculation and 12th Science marks. The notification also specifies tie-breaking rules based on age and the date of passing Matriculation.

📄 Required Documents

Candidates should keep the following documents ready for the application and subsequent Document Verification:

  • Matriculation / Class 10 marksheet and pass certificate.
  • Class 12 marksheet and pass certificate with Physics, Chemistry and Biology for applicable Medical Laboratory Technician trades.
  • Proof of date of birth, where required.
  • Consolidated ITI marksheet for all semesters of the relevant trade.
  • National Trade Certificate issued by NCVT or prescribed provisional trade certificate issued by NCVT/SCVT.
  • SC/ST/OBC category certificate, where applicable.
  • EWS certificate, where applicable.
  • PwBD certificate, where applicable.
  • Ex-Servicemen discharge or serving certificate, where applicable.
  • EBC certificate for candidates claiming EBC fee exemption.
  • Recent colour photograph.
  • Scanned signature as per the application portal specifications.
  • Medical fitness certificate in the prescribed format for Document Verification.

Candidates must produce original documents during Document Verification. Documents issued in languages other than English or Hindi must be accompanied by the prescribed attested translation.

⚠️ Important Instructions for NFR Apprentice Applicants

  • Check the exact number of training slots available for your ITI trade and preferred unit in the relevant annexure.
  • Only one application is permitted. Multiple applications can lead to disqualification.
  • Enter Unit-Department-Trade preferences carefully because selection is made according to merit and preference.
  • Once selected against a higher preference, lower preferences are automatically cancelled as per the notification.
  • Keep the registered mobile number and email address active throughout the selection process.
  • False or incorrect information can result in disqualification.
  • A medical fitness certificate in the prescribed format is required at Document Verification.
  • No travelling, daily or conveyance allowance is payable for attending Document Verification.
  • Apprenticeship training does not automatically guarantee appointment in Railway services.
  • Candidates should not pay money to anyone promising selection or appointment.

🔄 Also Check

✍️ How to Apply for NFR Apprentice Recruitment 2026

  1. Open the official NFR Apprentice application portal using the Apply Online link provided above.
  2. Read the official notification and identify the eligible Unit-Department-Trade combination.
  3. Register on the application portal using the required basic details.
  4. Fill in personal, educational, ITI and other required information carefully.
  5. Enter the Unit-Department-Trade preferences in the required order.
  6. Upload the photograph, signature and other required documents according to the portal specifications.
  7. Pay the applicable ₹100 application fee, if required.
  8. Review the complete application before final submission.
  9. Submit the application before 19 August 2026 at 5:30 PM.
  10. Download or print the final submitted application and preserve the Registration Number for future reference.
Important: The exact trade-wise and unit-wise eligibility and vacancies should be checked in the relevant annexure of the official NFR notification before submitting the application.

❓ Frequently Asked Questions

Northeast Frontier Railway has notified a total of 6,777 Act Apprentice training slots for the 2025-2026 and 2026-2027 apprenticeship cycles.
The online application closes on 19 August 2026 at 5:30 PM.
For most notified trades, candidates must have passed Class 10 with at least 50% aggregate marks and possess the relevant NCVT/SCVT ITI certificate. Medical Laboratory Technician trades require 12th Science with Physics, Chemistry and Biology along with the prescribed marks criteria.
The basic age limit is 15 to 24 years as on 19 August 2026. Category-wise relaxation is available as specified in the official notification, including 5 years for SC/ST, 3 years for OBC and 10 years for PwBD candidates.
No written examination is prescribed for the Act Apprentice selection. Selection is merit-based using the prescribed Matriculation and ITI marks, followed by Document Verification for shortlisted candidates.
The stated minimum stipend for NTC/STC holders is ₹9,600 per month. Where applicable under the apprenticeship curriculum, the stated higher-stage rates are ₹10,560 per month for the second year and ₹11,040 per month for the third year.
Major notified trades include Fitter, Electrician, Wireman, Welder, Turner, Machinist, Carpenter, Plumber, Mechanic Diesel, COPA, Draughtsman Civil, Surveyor, Secretarial Assistant, Health Sanitary Inspector and Medical Laboratory Technician, along with other unit-specific trades. Exact slots vary by unit and trade.
Conclusion: NFR Railway Apprentice Recruitment 2026 offers 6,777 Act Apprentice training slots across eight divisions and workshops. Candidates with the prescribed 10th and ITI qualifications should check their trade-wise eligibility, unit preferences, age and fee requirements and complete the online application by 19 August 2026 at 5:30 PM.
WA
Apply from Home ਘਰ ਬੈਠੇ ਫਾਰਮ ਭਰਵਾਓ